What's new

Is joker difficult to use?

Can a or should a beginner start off using joker? I'm fairly new to fighting games in general. And I have been looking at all of the joker combos and lil guides. And all of the combos and set ups people talk about or show are really difficult for me to try in a game situation. Most of the time I get pushed into a corner and have no idea how to get out.

So are there any starter combos I should learn or know? Or should I stop trying to main joker period? If anyone would like to show me some things online or show me anything period me psn is dereckm.

Doctor

Noob
You can start the game with any character you like. Although I would say that Joker is one of the more challenging fighters in the line-up to use, the spectrum isn't so wide that it matters-- and having a character you LIKE is better than one that is easy. Liking your character is the first key to success because when you like how they look/play/feel, you are more driven to play them and thus practice more; and fighting games are ALL about practice. That being said, combos are an important part of the game, but they shouldn't be your only focus.

- First, get comfortable with moving. If you ever accidentally jump when you don't want to or jump back/forward/neutral when you intend to jump somewhere else, can't dash on command or have trouble getting your character to where you want them to be you're gonna have a bad time.
- Then, you need to learn how to block. Blocking is absurdly underrated at the lower levels of play. Get comfortable with both crouch-blocking and stand blocking.
  • Attacks in this game have 5 basic classifications when it comes to blocking. High, Mid, Low, Overhead, and Unblockable.
  • High attacks are attacks that must be blocked high, but when the opponent is crouching they will miss him.
  • Mid attacks are your basic attacks and can be blocked high or low but unlike High won't whiff if the opponent is crouching.