What's new

I'm not good at thread titles, but I need some help. I might need a coach.

ZeroSymbolic

Social Justice Barbarian
Here is my situation, I've been playing video games for a long time, and particularly love Mortal Kombat. My problem is that I find myself in this situation; I am better than most casual players, but I am trash against other players that take it a bit more seriously. The result is that I rarely if ever have "good" matches. I feel like I am either just smashing somebody who doesn't understand the game, or I am playing against somebody who is smashing me as if I don't understand the game. I don't know how to cross the bridge, because I don't learn from the games where I am dominating my opponent, and I don't understand how to learn from my losses, because my games feel so far apart in terms of level.

I feel like a club chess player who is either playing against novice jrs, or grandmasters. What I think I need is a mentor, somebody who has time to explain things to me, and work with me a bit. Anybody willing? Anybody have a way for me to teach myself better?

Vslayer

Juiced Moose On The Loose
Lead Moderator
I don’t think you need a teacher, just a training partner who is better than you and who you’ll learn from playing them. You need to play long sets too, like 15-20 games every day if you can.