What's new

How to defend against staggers/mix-ups?

Tanya-Fan-28

TanyaShouldBeInMK11
I started practicing in the lab everyday for half hour and set my AI to 4 recordings of the same string just with different mix ups. When practicing against staggers, is the goal to "make the right guess" or "condition myself to commit to a guess, regardless if I'm right or wrong". When in a set I usually play yolo and depend on reaction time against staggers/mix ups, which doesn't always work out. I usually lose to Highborn Kitana, Jax & Liu Kang.

Tanya-Fan-28

TanyaShouldBeInMK11
Obviously it is a guess, but you can minimize risk by defending against the most dangerous options first. Then as you get a feel for what your opponent likes to do and see patterns in their offense you can make more educated guesses.
hmmm good advice. I think consideration of the reward the opponent would get if they were to risk a stagger will help me become better at guessing. Its our job to prevent such reward when they do attempt a stagger. I just need to learn how to commit to a guess because it seems like a slot machine on my mind, so I don't settle for any prediction. Then I eat any follow up they throw at me. I'm too reactionary and scared to commit to a guess.

ChoseDeath

Seriously Casual Player.
Personally I like to mix my opponents up right back. I typically curl up in a ball and cry and smash D1, making them guess if they're going to be counter hitting me or hitting me with a Krushing Blow. If I'm feeling froggy I'll enhance my strategy with a D3 to really fuck with them.

Rizz091

Noob