What's new

Match-up Discussion Help with DD vs Lantern

I'm still learning this MU because Wafflez dodges all the time.

Things that are good for GL in this MU

D2, trades with body splash but you still get a full combo.
B1. Doomsday doesn't really get anything out of backdashing the b1. B1,3, chaingun good way to chip, build meter, and be safe.
Lift. Once Doomsday gets frustrated with b1 he will have to jump more. That is where lift comes in handy.

Things that are good with DD

Supernova hard for GL to deal with, however on hit DD doesn't get anything guaranteed.
Trait. Chain gun is good here, but if we can get in beforehand the trait is good.
D1, ES. Learn to block it and back up.

The Great One

"I Always d1 Lif-" SHUT UP
What can lantern do against supernova? I almost got eliminated at the last touneyment i went to because the only way to get out of supernova was to lift when i was close or MB b3 then dash cancel after it hits because it crosses up when lantern B3 or F3s

E

Eldriken

Dash forward for Supernova. >_> It's the easiest way to avoid it unless you're not good at timing it and you get to punish for free.

Also, don't rely on a Doomsday player (or any player for the matter) to necessarily get annoyed with b1 and start jumping a lot. That can lead to blocked Lantern's Mights and you will wind up eating some damage and having to deal with Doomsday blowing up your wake ups.

I'm not gonna say I blow up GL players for free or anything, but I play an awful lot with @Orochi and have learned that the MU isn't one-sided for either character. It's a pretty solid 5-5. However, GL has an awesome tool to deal with Doomsday's trait and that's one thing that pisses me off. >_<

b1's range and seemingly endless active frames does drive me nuts, but I'd rather deal with that than the stupid range on Lantern's Might.