What's new

First and second choice characters.

Hey guys!

I see quite a few people on here talking about First and second choice fighters. Is that normally the way it works? I am still learning the game really and want to take it a bit more seriously, is it best to get a favourite and second favourite fighter.

Vjeekes

DevilApes
Hi,
its all up to you but its good to have a main and a secundary main to cover as much as matchups as possible
for example: if you main a rushdown character with no zoning ability, it would be good to choose a secondary main with good zoning skills to help you out in certain matches

Espio

Kokomo
Lead Moderator
There is no right answer to this question.

Perhaps you only really like/click with one character or are a character loyalist. There are others who like to have teams of characters just for fun and there are others that like to have a team to cover match ups.

For example, I play Goro and Kitana. They're both footsie heavy characters, but one is more about strong zoning footsies while the other is more about strong up close footises. They cater to my desire for varied gameplay and I happen to really like both as characters. Coincidentally, they tend to cover each other pretty well mu wise too.

Customize your strategy based on your skills, playstyle and personality. What works for me or someone else might not work for you or it might, but experiment and have fun with it.

Hidan

Where the hell is Reiko's wheel kick
Hey guys!

I see quite a few people on here talking about First and second choice fighters. Is that normally the way it works? I am still learning the game really and want to take it a bit more seriously, is it best to get a favourite and second favourite fighter.
No

Most ppl play multiple chars to cover bad matchups (because they don't like their character's variations).
Many get bored and want to try other playstyles.