What's new

Question - Reptile Is it possible to fuzzy guard reptiles overhead on wakeup?

1st post, so i better make it count with pertinent inquiries.

Anyway. His overhead is 11 frames, and his fastest low is 9 frames. I repeatedly tried fuzzy guarding his low and high mixup after sweep by using pre-recorded motions. It's extremely tight, but is it possible? And if it isn't please give me an in-depth explanation as to why it isn't, seeing as i'm relatively new to mk.

- Thanks.

Zoidberg747

My blades will find your heart
Not even close. People claim they can fuzzy things that are like 19 frames but it has been tested and when it comes down to it anything below 20 frames is impossible to fuzzy guard, assuming the player doesnt read it first.

If two moves have different ranges, i.e one reaches farther than the other, some players will always block the way that farther one is(low or Overhead) and then if they get close enough and see the other low/OH they will block low/OH. That however is technically speaking a read, not a reaction.

You could always backdash or tech roll on wakeup though, that could help.

Ok. So i have to develop a good sense of every character's strings and block accordingly? Accept that everything is a 50/50? That's harsh.

Hitoshura

Head Cage
Not even close. People claim they can fuzzy things that are like 19 frames but it has been tested and when it comes down to it anything below 20 frames is impossible to fuzzy guard, assuming the player doesnt read it first.
Fuzzy guarding in the game is kind of a pain. Makes fighting Scorpian a bit of an annoyance.

Last edited:

Gesture Required Ahead

Get on that hook
If I may suggest, his 9f low you're talking about is D3 I assume. D3, as well as all crouching normals in the game doesn't link to combos. If you read a D3 into B2, just take the small damage from D3 and block B2. Though that leaves Reptile at +1 and is in good range for his F21 or straight up Elbow Dash you on a hard read.